Click here to jump to the other pages of this issue June 1998

Desert Lands
vast, wild and wondrous

Volume 47, number 4/ June 1998

Aggie Panorama is published four times a year for the alumni and friends of New Mexico State University. Dues-paying members of the Alumni Association receive the publication four times a year as one of several membership benefits while all other alumni receive it twice a year (both printed and online versions). The magazine includes regular feature articles about NMSU and higher education, news about campus and athletic events, class notes, marriages, births and obituaries.

Aggie Panorama (USPS NO.381-120) is published quarterly by New Mexico State University, MSC 3K, P.O. Box 30001, Las Cruces, NM 88003-8001. Periodical postage paid at Las Cruces, NM 88001. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Aggie Panorama, MSC 3AS, P.O. Box 30001 NMSU, Las Cruces, NM 88003-8001.NMSU Alumni Association MSC 3AS, P.O. Box 30001, Las Cruces, NM 88003-8001 505-646-3616

Alumni Association Officers: Schuyler Armijo, '79, '87, president, Bonnie Pratt, '94, president-elect, Dinah Jentgen, '71, secretary/treasurer, Barbara Harrison, '84, past president

Executive Council: Anna Mejia Chieffo, '91, Brenda Baca Alvarez, '81, Steve Boudreau, '80, Anthony Chavez, '89, Jed Fanning, '83, Chuck Franco, '81, Paulina Salopek, '55, Sally S. Rovirosa, '85,

Alumni Association Staff: Executive Director/Debbie Widger, '81, '93

Panorama Staff: Editor/Rita A. Popp, '93, Aggie Whirl Editor/Sylvia Saenz Franco, '95, Writers/Karl Hill, Dan Trujillo, '92, Jess Williams, '85, '97, Ann Palormo

Sports Information Writer/Steve Shutt, Student Writers/Lena Parsons, Jean Renfroe, Photographer/Michael Kiernan, Designer/Ronnie Garver, '97

Cover photos by Michael Kiernan and J. Victor Espinoza, '80